colour me happy kitchen

Because there's more than one way to make a cake.

Best ever chocolate chunk cookies

Leave a comment

If I could only ever make one type of biscuit again this would be it. (The fact that I even think about stuff like that is worrying).

These are my go-to vegan gluten-free cookies. But they don’t taste vegan or gluten-free, and they are nothing like the biscuits you’ll find in the free-from aisle. (Though those are improving admittedly.)

If I need a little bake-therapy they are in the oven within ten minutes and ready for pinching off the hot baking sheet after another ten. I know the recipe by heart and it never lets me down.

chocolate_chunk_gluten_free_vegan_cookies.jpg

Crisp, crumbly, chocolatey and totally moreish, everyone I’ve fed these to expresses surprise when I let slip they are actually gluten-free chocolate chip cookies. (Because clearly I wouldn’t be sitting scoffing them too otherwise).

In fact these are the most allergy-friendly cookies ever, with no dairy, egg, soy, nuts, wheat or gluten. Given that half the fat is made up of olive oil they are a darn site healthier than a lot of chocolate chunk cookies out there, gluten-free or not.

They do, however contain a decent helping of sugar. When it comes to a gluten-free vegan chocolate chip cookie with no nuts or soy, I’m okay with that.

choc-chip_cookie_gluten_free

I prefer to chop my favourite 70% soy-free dark chocolate into chunks but these work great with dark chocolate chips too. If you replace the cornflour with arrowroot these are easily made corn-free.

Here’s the recipe (makes about 25)

  • 45g dairy-free spread (like Pure or Flora Freedom)
  • 45g light olive oil
  • 25g golden syrup
  • 50g caster sugar
  • 50g light soft brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon good vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon balsamic vinegar
  • a good pinch of salt
  • 30g cornflour
  • 40g gram flour (I used Dove’s Farm)
  • 100g rice flour (I used Dove’s Farm)
  • 1/2 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda
  • 80g good dark chocolate, chopped into small chunks (or your favourite chocolate chips)
  1. Preheat the oven to 160 degrees C fan.
  2. Mix the oil and spread with the sugars and syrup, then the vanilla and vinegar. Stir well.
  3. Add the flours, salt and bicarbonate of soda with the chocolate chunks, stir until well combined. It should be the consistency of cookie dough (funnily enough).
  4. Line 2 baking sheets with baking parchment and roll the dough into small balls about 3cm in diameter. (Smaller than a walnut, about the size of a large marble). Space out well over the baking sheets.
  5. Bake for 8-10 minutes or until lightly browned and fully flattened.
  6. Cool for a few minutes on the tray then transfer to a wire rack.
  7. Make a cuppa and enjoy…

chocolate_chunk_vegan_cookies_gluten_free

 

 

Author: colourmehappykitchen

Recipe developer, chef, nutritionist, mum, wife, writer, food obsessive. I make food that makes me feel good. Colourful, healthy, delicious food. Gluten-free, dairy-free (and recently nut- and egg-free treats that don't taste free-from anything. If you have time for a browse I hope you enjoy...

Leave a comment